Australia for ASEAN Scholarships Key Messages

At the ASEAN-Australia Special Summit held in March 2024, Australia’s Prime Minister announced
75 Australia for ASEAN Scholarships to support emerging ASEAN leaders to study in Australia and advance the ASEAN Outlook on the Indo-Pacific (AOIP).

Australia for ASEAN scholarships are prestigious international awards offered by the Australian Government to the next generation of leaders from ASEAN member states. Through study and research, recipients develop the skills and knowledge to drive change and help build enduring people-to-people links with Australia.

Australia for ASEAN scholarships provide an opportunity to obtain a Master by research or Master by coursework qualification at an Australian tertiary institution. Students wishing to undertake a Masters by research degree are strongly encourage to apply.

The Australian Government and Australia’s world class university sector are jointly contributing to these scholarships, demonstrating Australia’s whole-of-nation commitment to the region. The following universities are partnering with this program:

  • Australian National University
  • Bond University
  • Deakin University
  • Griffith University
  • Monash University
  • Queensland University of Technology
  • RMIT University
  • Swinburne University of Technology
  • University of Adelaide
  • University of Melbourne
  • University of New South Wales
  • University of Queensland
  • University of Southern Queensland
  • University of Tasmania.

Australia for ASEAN scholars will also participate in an ASEAN Emerging Leaders Program, which will provide a range of learning, networking and development opportunities.

Applications are strongly encouraged from women, people with disability and marginalised groups.

Applicants are assessed on their professional and personal qualities, academic competence and their potential to impact on one of the four priority areas of cooperation: maritime, connectivity, economic, and sustainable development cooperation.

Detailed information on priority areas of study can be found at:

Scholarships will be offered for commencement in 2025.

The benefits of an Australia for ASEAN scholarship and application process remain the same as the Australia Awards program.

Additional information for Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Myanmar, the Philippines, Timor-Leste and Vietnam: All applicants that apply for an Australia Award at one of the universities mentioned

will be considered for the Australia for ASEAN Scholarship.

You can apply online

Supporting Documents: